

Distr.: General 14 February 2007

Original: English

**Resumed organizational session of 2007** 25 and 26 April 2007 Agenda item 4 **Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments** 

# Election of six members of the Executive Board of the World Food Programme

### Note by the Secretary-General

#### Addendum

1. The Executive Board of the World Food Programme has 36 members, elected from among the States Members of the United Nations and the States members of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO). In accordance with General Assembly resolution 53/223 of 7 April 1999 and FAO Conference resolution 6/99 of 13 November 1999, the Economic and Social Council and the Council of FAO elect 18 members of the Executive Board each, according to the pattern set out in General Assembly resolution 53/223.

2. The Economic and Social Council is to elect, at its resumed organizational session for 2007, six members of the Executive Board for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2008 to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2007 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Australia, China, Cuba, Ethiopia, Norway and Tunisia.

- 3. The six members are to be elected according to the following pattern:<sup>1</sup>
  - Two members from the States included in List A
  - One member from the States included in List B
  - One member from the States included in List C
  - Two members from the States included in List D

4. The 18 members of the Executive Board elected by the Economic and Social Council are listed in annex I to the present note. Annex II lists the members of the Executive Board elected by the FAO Council for the information of the Economic

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The members are elected from lists set out in the Basic Texts of the World Food Programme. The lists are reproduced in annex III to the present note.



and Social Council. Annex III lists the States Members of the United Nations and member States of FAO for election to the Executive Board of the World Food Programme.

## Annex I

# Eighteen members elected by the Economic and Social Council to the Executive Board of the World Food Programme

(Three-year term)

### Membership in 2007

#### Four seats for States on List A

Cape Verde (2009), Ethiopia\* (2007), Tunisia\* (2007), Zimbabwe (2008)

#### Four seats for States on List B

China\* (2007), India (2009), Indonesia (2008), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2009)

#### Two seats for States on List C

Cuba\* (2007), Mexico (2008)

#### Six seats for States on List D

Australia\* (2007), Japan (2008), New Zealand (2009), Norway\* (2007), Sweden (2009), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2008)

#### Two seats for States on List E

Russian Federation (2009), Ukraine (2008)

<sup>\*</sup> Retiring member.

## Annex II

# Eighteen members elected by the Council of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations to the Executive Board of the World Food Programme

(Three-year term)

### Membership in 2007

#### Five seats for States on List A (four regular seats and one rotating seat)

Congo (2007), Niger (2007), Sudan (2008),<sup>a</sup> United Republic of Tanzania (2008 — rotating seat), Zambia (2009)

#### Three seats for States on List B

Kuwait (2007), Pakistan (2009), Philippines (2009)

#### Three seats for States on List C

Colombia (2008), Haiti (2007), Peru (2009)

#### Six seats for States on List D

Austria (2008), Canada (2007), Germany (2007), Netherlands (2009), Switzerland (2008), United States of America (2009)

#### One seat for States on List E

Slovenia (2008)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>a</sup> Replaced Algeria, who resigned effective 31 December 2006.

## Annex III

# Lists of States Members of the United Nations and member States of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations for election to the Executive Board of the World Food Programme\*

#### 1. Developing countries

List A

Algeria	Ethiopia	Niger
Angola	Gabon	Nigeria
Benin	Gambia	Rwanda
Botswana	Ghana	Sao Tome and Principe
Burkina Faso	Guinea	Senegal
Burundi	Guinea-Bissau	Seychelles
Cameroon	Kenya	Sierra Leone
Cape Verde	Lesotho	Somalia
Central African Republic	Liberia	South Africa
Chad	Libyan Arab Jamahiriya	Sudan
Comoros	Madagascar	Swaziland
Congo	Malawi	Togo
Côte d'Ivoire	Mali	Tunisia
Democratic Republic of the Congo	Mauritania	Uganda
Djibouti	Mauritius	United Republic of Tanzania
Egypt	Morocco	Zambia
Equatorial Guinea	Mozambique	Zimbabwe
Eritrea	Namibia	
List B		

#### List B

Group I

Afghanistan Bahrain Iran (Islamic Republic of) Iraq Jordan Kazakhstan

#### Group II

Bangladesh Bhutan Brunei Darussalam Cambodia Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Lebanon Oman Qatar Saudi Arabia Syrian Arab Republic Tajikistan Turkmenistan United Arab Emirates Uzbekistan Yemen

China Cook Islands Democratic People's Republic of Korea Fiji India Indonesia Kiribati

<sup>\*</sup> From appendix A to the General Regulations of the World Food Programme. In the event of a change in the membership of the United Nations or the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), the appropriate change will be made by the secretariats of the United Nations and FAO, respectively, after the necessary consultations with Member States.

Lao People's Democratic Republic Malaysia Maldives Marshall Islands	Nepal Niue Pakistan Palau Papua New Guinea	Solomon Islands Sri Lanka Thailand Timor-Leste Tonga
Micronesia (Federated States of) Mongolia	Philippines Republic of Korea	Tuvalu Vanuatu
Myanmar	Samoa	Viet Nam
Nauru	Singapore	
List C		
Antigua and Barbuda	Dominican Republic	Paraguay
Argentina	Ecuador	Peru
Bahamas	El Salvador	Saint Kitts and Nevis
Barbados	Grenada	Saint Lucia
Belize	Guatemala	Saint Vincent and the
Bolivia	Guyana	Grenadines
Brazil	Haiti	Suriname
Chile	Honduras	Trinidad and Tobago
Colombia	Jamaica	Uruguay
Costa Rica	Mexico	Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic
Cuba	Nicaragua	of)
Dominica	Panama	

## 2. Economically developed countries

#### List D

Andorra	Iceland	Norway
Australia	Ireland	Portugal
Austria	Israel	San Marino
Belgium	Italy	Spain
Canada	Japan	Sweden
Cyprus	Liechtenstein	Switzerland
Denmark	Luxembourg	Turkey
Finland	Malta	United Kingdom of Great
France	Monaco	Britain and Northern Ireland
Germany	Netherlands	United States of America
Greece	New Zealand	

### List E

Albania	Estonia	Romania
Armenia	Georgia	Russian Federation
Azerbaijan	Hungary	Serbia
Belarus	Latvia	Slovakia
Bosnia and Herzegovina	Lithuania	Slovenia
Bulgaria	Moldova	The former Yugoslav
Croatia	Montenegro	Republic of Macedonia
Czech Republic	Poland	Ukraine