United Nations $E_{/2007/9/Add.4}$



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 14 February 2007

Original: English

Resumed organizational session for 2007

25 and 26 April 2007 Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of 11 members of the Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/ United Nations Population Fund

Note by the Secretary-General

Addendum

- 1. The Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund has 36 members, elected with due regard to equitable geographical representation and other relevant factors, with a view to ensuring the most effective and broadest representation.
- 2. In accordance with General Assembly resolution 48/162, the Council is to elect, at its resumed organizational session for 2007, 11 members of the Executive Board from among States Members of the United Nations or members of the specialized agencies or of the International Atomic Energy Agency, for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2008, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2007 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Belarus, Canada, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Guatemala, Guyana, Italy, Kazakhstan, Portugal, Uganda, Ukraine and United States of America.
- 3. The 11 members are to be elected according to the following pattern:

One member from African States;

Two members from Asian States;

Two members from Eastern European States;

Two members from Latin American and Caribbean States;

Four members from Western European and other States.

4. The current membership of the Executive Board is listed in the annex.



Annex

Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund

(36 members; three-year term)

Membership in 2007

Eight members from African States

Algeria (2008), Angola (2009), Benin (2008), Central African Republic (2009), Malawi (2009), Senegal (2009), Somalia (2009), Uganda* (2007)

Seven members from Asian States

Bangladesh (2008), Bhutan (2009), China (2009), Democratic People's Republic of Korea* (2007), India (2009), Kazakhstan* (2007), Pakistan (2008)

Four members from Eastern European States

Belarus* (2007), Russian Federation (2008), Serbia (2009), Ukraine* (2007)

Five members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Antigua and Barbuda (2009), Ecuador (2008), Guatemala* (2007), Guyana* (2007), Jamaica (2008)

Twelve members from Western European and other States

Belgium (2008), Canada* (2007), Denmark (2009), Germany (2009), Greece (2009), Italy* (2007), Japan (2008), Norway (2008), Portugal* (2007), Spain (2009), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2008), United States of America* (2007)

2 07-23949

^{*} Retiring member.