

Distr.: General 12 December 2016

Original: English

Human Rights Council Twenty-sixth special session 14 December 2016

> Letter dated 9 December 2016 from the Permanent Representatives of Albania, Paraguay and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland to the United Nations Office at Geneva and the Representative of the United States of America to the Human Rights Council addressed to the President of the Council

> With the support of the delegations listed on the attached page (see annex), we request that the Human Rights Council hold a special session on the situation of human rights in South Sudan on 14 December 2016. A special session is needed because of the importance and urgency of the situation. We make the present request to hold a special session in accordance with relevant procedural rules, including paragraph 10 of General Assembly resolution 60/251, paragraphs 119 to 128 of the annex to Council resolution 5/1, and rules 5 and 6 of the rules of procedure of the Human Rights Council. Please share the present request with the Council secretariat, and convene the Bureau at your earliest convenience in order that the necessary arrangements and notifications may be made.

(signed)	Filloreta <b>Kodra</b> Ambassador Permanent Representative of Albania
(signed)	Juan Esteban Aguirre <b>Martínez</b> Ambassador Permanent Representative of Paraguay
(signed)	Julian <b>Braithwaite</b> Ambassador Permanent Representative of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
(signed)	Keith M. <b>Harper</b> Ambassador Representative of the United States of America to the Human Rights Council





## Annex

## States Members and observer States of the Human Rights Council requesting the convening of a special session

## **Member States**

Albania, Belgium, France, Georgia, Germany, Latvia, Mexico, the Netherlands, Panama, Paraguay, Portugal, the Republic of Korea, Slovenia, Switzerland, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

## **Observer States**

Australia, Austria, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden and the United States of America