

Distr.: General 19 October 2016

Original: English

Human Rights Council Twenty-fifth special session 21 October 2016

Letter dated 18 October 2016 from the Permanent Representative of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland to the United Nations Office and other international organizations in Geneva addressed to the President of the Human Rights Council

I am writing to formally request that the Human Rights Council convene a special session. I make this request in the company of the core group in Geneva (comprising Germany, France, Italy, Jordan, Kuwait, Morocco, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the United States of America) following the most recent deterioration in the situation of human rights in Aleppo and the failure of the Assad regime and its allies to fulfil their international human rights commitments.

In convening the special session, we will call upon the Human Rights Council to adopt a resolution on the deteriorating situation of human rights in the Syrian Arab Republic, and the recent situation in Aleppo. We will hold an informal discussion on the text of the resolution on Wednesday, 19 October 2016, at 10 a.m.

I enclose a list of the representatives of the 16 States Members and of the observer States of the Human Rights Council that support the convening of the special session. It is important that the session be held without undue delay. While appreciating the practical and logistical challenges that holding a session on such short notice involves, I request that the session be held on Friday, 21 October 2016.

(signed) Julian **Braithwaite** Ambassador Permanent Representative of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Please recycle





Annex

Member and observer States of the Human Rights Council requesting the convening of a special session

Member States

Belgium, France, Georgia, Germany, Latvia, Mexico, the Netherlands, Paraguay, Portugal, Qatar, the Republic of Korea, Saudi Arabia, Slovenia, Switzerland, the United Arab Emirates and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Observer States

Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Norway, Romania, Spain, Sweden and Turkey