

Distr.: General 29 August 2014

Original: English

Human Rights Council Twenty-second special session 1 September 2014

## Letter dated 27 August 2014 from the Chargé d'affaires a.i. of the Permanent Mission of Costa Rica to the United Nations Office at Geneva addressed to the President of the Human Rights Council

Given the genuine interest of the Republic of Iraq in holding a special session of the Human Rights Council in light of the systematic terrorist attacks and human rights abuses committed by the so-called "Islamic State in Iraq and the Levant" (ISIL) and associated groups against the people of Iraq in Iraqi territories under their control, as per the letter of 26 August 2014 from the Republic of Iraq, the Government of Costa Rica requests the convening of a special session of the Human Rights Council pursuant to General Assembly resolution 60/251 and Human Rights Council resolution 5/1, to be held on 1 September 2014, entitled, "The human rights situation in Iraq in light of abuses committed by the so-called Islamic State in Iraq and the Levant and associated groups".

Please find attached hereto a list of Members and Observer States of the Human Rights Council that have supported the request for the special session and have signed the list of co-sponsorship.

I kindly urge you to communicate this request in accordance with the established practice.

(signed) Mario Vega Hernández Minister Counsellor Chargé d'affaires a.i.





## Annex

## **Member States**

Austria, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Chile, China, Congo, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Gabon, Germany, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kuwait, Maldives, Montenegro, Morocco, Pakistan, Peru, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America.

## **Observer States**

Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Jordan, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Senegal, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, State of Palestine, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland.