

Distr.: General 13 October 2015

Original: English

Human Rights Council Thirtieth session Agenda item 5

Resolution adopted by the Human Rights Council on 1 October 2015

30/12. Promotion of the right to peace

The Human Rights Council,

Recalling all previous resolutions on the promotion of the right of peoples to peace adopted by the General Assembly, the Commission on Human Rights and the Human Rights Council, in particular Council resolution 20/15 of 5 July 2012,

Recalling also General Assembly resolution 39/11 of 12 November 1984 entitled "Declaration of the Right of Peoples to Peace" and the United Nations Millennium Declaration, as well as other relevant international documents,

Taking note of the report of the open-ended intergovernmental working group on a draft United Nations declaration on the right to peace on its third session,¹ held from 20 to 24 April 2015, pursuant to Human Rights Council resolution 27/17,

1. *Decides* that the working group shall hold its fourth session for five working days with the objective of finalizing the declaration;

2. *Requests* the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights to provide the working group with the assistance necessary for it to fulfil its mandate;

3. *Invites* States, civil society and all relevant stakeholders to contribute actively and constructively to the work of the working group;

4. *Requests* the working group to prepare a report and to submit it to the Human Rights Council, to be made available in all official languages of the United Nations, for consideration at its thirty-third session.

41st meeting 1 October 2015

¹ A/HRC/29/45.





[Adopted by a recorded vote of 33 to 12, with 2 abstentions. The voting was as follows:

In favour:

Algeria, Argentina, Bangladesh, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Botswana, Brazil, China, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Cuba, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, India, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Maldives, Mexico, Morocco, Namibia, Nigeria, Pakistan, Paraguay, Qatar, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Sierra Leone, South Africa, United Arab Emirates, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of), Viet Nam

Against:

Estonia, France, Germany, Ireland, Japan, Latvia, Montenegro, Netherlands, Republic of Korea, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America

Abstaining:

Albania, Portugal]