

Distr.: General 22 June 2007

Original: English

General Assembly Sixty-first session Agenda item 9 Question of Cyprus Security Council Sixty-second year

# Letter dated 22 June 2007 from the Permanent Representative of Cyprus to the United Nations addressed to the Secretary-General

In accordance with the instructions received from my Government, I have the honour to refer to your report of 4 June 2007 on the United Nations operation in Cyprus (S/2007/328) and, in particular, to paragraph 28 thereof, concerning the ongoing demolition of Greek Cypriot houses by the Turkish occupation forces in the occupied town of Rizokarpaso without the owners' consent.

While my Government expresses its appreciation for the commendable efforts of the United Nations Peacekeeping Force in Cyprus towards the Turkish side for stopping this illegal practice, we regret to inform you that 80 houses have been demolished so far (see annex) and many others have been paint-marked by the Turkish forces for oncoming demolition. According to information in the Turkish Cypriot press, after the houses of the Greek Cypriots are demolished, the plots of land are offered to settlers from mainland Turkey, in addition to financial assistance for the construction of new houses.

The Government of the Republic of Cyprus strongly protests these developments, which constitute a blatant violation of international humanitarian law and the law of armed conflict, which both stipulate with clarity the obligations of an occupying power — in this case of the Republic of Turkey — in the field of property rights. Regrettably, this case would constitute, if it is not prevented, a deplorable addition to a series of similar cases, which demonstrate the direct involvement of Turkey in the unlawful exploitation of Greek Cypriot properties in the occupied area of the Republic of Cyprus.

I should be grateful if you would arrange for the present letter and its attachment to be circulated as a document of the General Assembly, under agenda item 19, and of the Security Council.

(Signed) Andreas D. Mavroyiannis



## Annex to the letter dated 22 June 2007 from the Permanent Representative of Cyprus to the United Nations addressed to the Secretary-General

### List of owners of demolished properties in Rizokarpaso, Cyprus

#### A. Community of Anavrisis

- 1. Eleni Xontrou (Velounia)
- 2. Elli Socratous (Mikelli)
- 3. Zacharias Liasou
- 4. Agathagellos Chari
- 5. Nicolas Charpas
- 6. Dimitris Fragoudis
- 7. Crhistodoulos M. Parpottas
- 8. Liasos Fragoudis
- 9. Eleni Ttoouli Nasari
- 10. Michails Pitziorris
- 11. Crhistodoulos K. Parpottas
- 12. Eleni Pavlou
- 13. Yiannis Charpas
- 14. Nicolas Tsikkirou
- 15. Charls Agathagelou
- 16. Andreas Chambi
- 17. Stella Pitrakkou (Petinou)
- 18. Christina P. Pitakkou
- 19. Panayis Michaelou
- 20. Yiannia Poxamatis
- 21. Neophytos Poyiadjis
- 22. Thekla Matheou
- 23. Yiannis Poxamatis
- 24. Marla Milous
- 25. Argyroulla Sotiriou
- 26. Yiannis Thrasivoulou
- 27. Nicolas Kliris
- 28. Maria Charidimou

- 29. Annezou Michall Metaxa
- 30. Polyxeni Ttokkallou
- 31. Savvas Matheou
- 32. Matheos Poylatzis
- 33. Despo Kolatsi (Mouzouri)
- 34. Despo Kolatsi (Mouzouri)
- 35. Evagelos Kolatsis
- 36. Pantelis Pitrakkou

#### B. Community of Leko

- 1. Eleni I. Loizou
- 2. Kyriaki Tanti (hereditary)
- 3. Maroulia Chronia (hereditary)
- 4. Sotira Kayiatou
- 5. Lambis Solomou (Falas)
- 6. Zacharias Ttoulouras
- 7. Michalis Theofanous
- 8. Stellos Pallikaros
- 9. Yiannis Klonaros
- 10. Athina Kattou (Tarza)
- 11. Andreas Kyamidis (doctor)
- 12. Flourentza Pamballi
- 13. Nicolas or Christakis Velounias
- 14. Pavlos Korkou
- 15. Crhistodoulos Xiouri
- 16. Stella Xiouri
- 17. Stylianos Maroullous
- 18. Yiannis Maroullous
- 19. Stylianos Manitaras (Loukias)
- 20. Dimitris Charou
- 21. Maria Lazari
- 22. Andreas X"Panayi
- 23. Prodromos Prodromou Giorgos
- 24. Maria Avrami

#### C. Community of Ayla Trias

- 1. Maria Z. Vasili (Giogalli)
- 2. Zacharias A. Koulias
- 3. Sofia Ktori
- 4. Androulla Psara (llia)
- 5. Anastasis Yiannikkou
- 6. Crhistodoulos Synesi
- 7. Yiannis Yiannikkou
- 8. Petros Pafitis
- 9. Petros Koulias
- 10. Christofis Koulias
- 11. Stellos Stylianou
- 12. Vasilis G. Vasili
- 13. Andriana Saxli
- 14. Vasilis Stylianou
- 15. Sofia Ktori
- 16. Sofia Koulia
- 17. Andriana Tatzlarou
- 18. Savvas N. Pafitis
- 19. Antonis Flourou
- 20. Maria P. Lefteri (X"Panayi)