

Distr.: General 6 July 2004

Original: English

**Fifty-ninth session** Item 17 (b) of the preliminary list\* **Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments** 

## Appointment of members of the Committee on Contributions

## Note by the Secretary-General

1. Rules 158 and 159 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly provide as follows:

## "Rule 158

"The General Assembly shall appoint an expert Committee on Contributions consisting of eighteen members.

## "Rule 159

"The members of the Committee on Contributions, no two of whom shall be nationals of the same State, shall be selected on the basis of broad geographical representation, personal qualifications and experience and shall serve for a period of three years corresponding to three calendar years. Members shall retire by rotation and shall be eligible for reappointment. The General Assembly shall appoint the members of the Committee on Contributions at the regular session immediately preceding the expiration of the term of office of the members or, in case of vacancies, at the next session."

2. The present membership of the Committee is the following:

Mr. Kenshiro Akimoto (Japan)\*\*\*

Mr. Petru Dumitriu (Romania)\*\*\*

Mr. David Dutton (Australia)\*

Mr. Haile Selassie Getachew (Ethiopia)\*\*\*

Mr. Bernardo Greiver (Uruguay)\*

04-41603 (E) 220704

\*0441603\*

<sup>\*</sup> A/59/50 and Corr.1.

Mr. Alvaro Gurgel de Alencar Netto (Brazil)\*\*

Mr. Hassan Mohammed Hassan (Nigeria)\*

Mr. Ihor V. Humenny (Ukraine)\*\*\*

Mr. Eduardo Iglesias (Argentina)\*

Mr. Omar Kadiri (Morocco)\*

Mr. David A. Leis (United States of America)\*\*\*

Mr. Meshal A. M. A. Al-Mansour (Kuwait)\*\*\*

Mr. Sergei I. Mareyev (Russian Federation)\*\*

Mr. Bernard G. Meijerman (Netherlands)\*\*

Mr. Hae-yun Park (Republic of Korea)\*\*

Mr. Eduardo Manuel da Fonseca Fernandes Ramos (Portugal)\*

Mr. Ugo Sessi (Italy)\*\*

Mr. Wu Gang (China)\*\*

3. Since the terms of office of Mr. Dutton, Mr. Greiver, Mr. Hassan, Mr. Iglesias, Mr. Kadiri and Mr. Ramos will expire on 31 December 2004, it will be necessary for the General Assembly at its fifty-ninth session to appoint six persons to fill the resulting vacancies. The persons so appointed will serve for a period of three years, beginning on 1 January 2005.

4. At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee submitted to the General Assembly a draft decision containing the names of the persons recommended for appointment. It is suggested that a similar procedure be followed at the fifty-ninth session.

2

<sup>\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 2004.

<sup>\*\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 2005.

<sup>\*\*\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 2006.