United Nations A/58/552



Distr.: General 5 November 2003

Original: English

Fifty-eighth session Agenda item 16 (c) Elections to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other elections

Election of seven members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. In accordance with Economic and Social Council resolution 2008 (LX) of 14 May 1976 and General Assembly decision 42/450 of 17 December 1987, the members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination are nominated by the Economic and Social Council and elected by the General Assembly.
- 2. The membership of the Committee in 2003 is as follows (see General Assembly decisions 57/405 A of 4 November 2002 and 57/405 B of 1 May 2003):

Argentina,*** Armenia,*** Bahamas,* Benin,*** Botswana,* Brazil,*** Canada,*** Central African Republic,*** China,** Cuba,*** Ethiopia,** France,* Gabon,*** Germany,*** India,*** Indonesia,*** Iran (Islamic Republic of),*** Japan,** Mexico,* Monaco,*** Nicaragua,*** Nigeria,** Pakistan,*** Republic of Korea,** Republic of Moldova,*** Russian Federation,* South Africa,*** Switzerland,*** Tunisia,** Ukraine,*** United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland,*** United Republic of Tanzania,* United States of America* and Uruguay.**



^{*} Term of office expires on 31 December 2003.

^{**}Term of office expires on 31 December 2004.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 2005.

^{3.} The General Assembly, at its fifty-eighth session, will be called upon to elect seven members, on the nomination of the Economic and Social Council, to fill the vacancies in the Committee that will occur on 31 December 2003 upon the expiration of the terms of office of the Bahamas, Botswana, France, Mexico, the Russian Federation, the United Republic of Tanzania and the United States of America.

- 4. In accordance with General Assembly decision 42/450, the vacancies are to be filled as follows:
 - (a) Two members from African States;
 - (b) One member from Eastern European States;
 - (c) Two members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
 - (d) Two members from Western European and other States.
- 5. By its decision 2003/201 B of 29 April 2003, the Economic and Social Council nominated the following Member States for election by the General Assembly at its fifty-eighth session, for a term of three years beginning on 1 January 2004: Bahamas, Comoros, France, Mexico, Russian Federation, United States of America and Zimbabwe. The geographical distribution of the nominated Member States is as follows:
 - (a) African States (two vacancies): Comoros, Zimbabwe;
 - (b) Eastern European States (one vacancy): Russian Federation;
 - (c) Latin American and Caribbean States (two vacancies): Bahamas, Mexico;
- (d) Western European and other States (two vacancies): France, United States of America.