

Distr.: General 25 September 2002

Original: English

Fifty-seventh session Agenda item 16 Elections to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other elections

Election of twenty members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination

Note by the Secretary-General*

1. In accordance with Economic and Social Council resolution 2008 (LX) of 14 May 1976 and General Assembly decision 42/450 of 17 December 1987, the members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination are nominated by the Economic and Social Council and elected by the General Assembly.

2. The membership of the Committee in 2002 is as follows (see General Assembly decision 56/308 of 22 October 2001):

Argentina,** Bahamas,*** Bangladesh,** Botswana,*** Brazil,** Cameroon,** China,**** Cuba,** Ethiopia,*** France,*** Gabon,** Germany,** Indonesia,** Iran (Islamic Republic of),** Italy,** Japan,**** Mauritania,** Mexico,*** Nigeria,**** Pakistan,** Peru,** Poland,** Portugal,** Republic of Korea,**** Republic of Moldova,** Russian Federation,*** San Marino,** Tunisia,**** Ukraine,** United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland,** United Republic of Tanzania,*** United States of America,*** Uruguay**** and Zimbabwe.**

3. The General Assembly, at its fifty-seventh session, will be called upon to elect twenty members, on the nomination of the Economic and Social Council, to fill the vacancies in the Committee that will occur on 31 December 2002 upon the expiration of the terms of office of Argentina, Bangladesh, Brazil, Cameroon, Cuba, Gabon, Germany, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Italy, Mauritania, Pakistan, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Moldova, San Marino, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and Zimbabwe.

02-60525 (E) 260902 * **0260525** *

^{*} Final candidates were nominated by the Economic and Social Council on 26 July 2002.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 2002.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 2003.

^{****} Term of office expires on 31 December 2004.

4. In accordance with Assembly decision 42/450, the vacancies are to be filled as follows:

- (a) Four members from African States;
- (b) Four members from Asian States;
- (c) Three members from Eastern European States;
- (d) Four members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
- (e) Five members from Western European and other States.

5. By its decisions 2002/201 B of 29 April 2002 and 2002/201 C of 26 July 2002, the Economic and Social Council nominated the following Member States for election by the General Assembly at its fifty-seventh session, for a term of three years beginning on 1 January 2003: Argentina, Armenia, Benin, Brazil, Central African Republic, Cuba, Gabon, Germany, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Monaco, Nicaragua, Pakistan, Republic of Moldova, South Africa, Ukraine and United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. The geographical distribution of the nominated Member States is as follows:

(a) African States (four vacancies): Benin, Central African Republic, Gabon, South Africa;

(b) Asian States (four vacancies): India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Pakistan;

(c) Eastern European States (three vacancies): Armenia, Republic of Moldova, Ukraine;

(d) Latin American and Caribbean States (four vacancies): Argentina, Brazil, Cuba, Nicaragua;

(e) Western European and other States (five vacancies):¹ Germany, Monaco, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

¹ By decision 2002/201 C, the Economic and Social Council postponed the nomination of two members from Western European and other States for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2003.