United Nations A/53/PV.56



Official Records

56th plenary meeting Thursday, 12 November 1998, 10 a.m. New York

President: Mr. Opertti (Uruguay)

The meeting was called to order at 10.10 a.m.

Agenda item 15

Elections to fill vacancies in principal organs

(b) Election of eighteen members of the Economic and Social Council

The President (interpretation from Spanish): This morning the General Assembly will proceed to the election of 18 members of the Economic and Social Council to replace those members whose term of office expires on 31 December 1998.

The 18 outgoing members are Argentina, Bangladesh, Canada, the Central African Republic, China, the Czech Republic, Finland, Gabon, Guyana, Jordan, Lebanon, Nicaragua, Romania, the Russian Federation, Sweden, Togo, Tunisia and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

As of 1 January 1999, the following States will continue to be represented on the Economic and Social Council: Algeria, Belarus, Belgium, Brazil, Cape Verde, Chile, Colombia, the Comoros, Cuba, Djibouti, El Salvador, France, the Gambia, Germany, Iceland, India, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lesotho, Mauritius, Mexico, Mozambique, New Zealand, Oman, Pakistan, Poland, the Republic of Korea, Saint Lucia, Sierra Leone, Spain, Sri Lanka, Turkey, the United States of America, Viet Nam and Zambia. The names of these 36 States should therefore not appear on the ballots.

In accordance with paragraph 4 of General Assembly resolution 2847 (XXVI) of 20 December 1971, and taking into account the number of States which will remain members of the Council after 1 January 1999, the 18 members should be elected as follows: four from African States, three from Latin American and Caribbean States, four from Asian States, four from Western European and other States and three from Eastern European States. The ballot papers reflect this pattern.

I should like to inform the Assembly that the number of candidates, not exceeding the number of seats to be filled, receiving the greatest number of votes and a two-thirds majority of those present and voting will be declared elected. In the case of a tie vote for a remaining seat, there will be a restricted ballot limited to those candidates which have obtained an equal number of votes.

May I take it that the General Assembly agrees to this procedure?

It was so decided.

The President (*interpretation from Spanish*): In accordance with rule 92 of the rules of procedure, the election shall be held by secret ballot, and there shall be no nominations.

Regarding candidatures, I have been informed by the Chairmen of the regional groups that, for the four vacant seats from among the African States, the four endorsed candidates are the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Guinea-Bissau, Morocco and Rwanda.

98-86382 (E)

This record contains the original text of speeches delivered in English and interpretations of speeches delivered in the other languages. Corrections should be submitted to original speeches only. They should be incorporated in a copy of the record and be sent under the signature of a member of the delegation concerned, within one month of the date of the meeting, to the Chief of the Verbatim Reporting Service, Room C-178. Corrections will be issued after the end of the session in a consolidated corrigendum.

For the four vacant seats from among the Asian States, there are five candidates, namely, China, Indonesia, Saudi Arabia, the Syrian Arab Republic and Turkmenistan.

For the Eastern European States, there are five candidates for three vacant seats. The candidates are Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, the Republic of Moldova, the Russian Federation and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia.

For the three vacant seats from among the Latin American and Caribbean States, there are four candidates, namely, Bolivia, Ecuador, Honduras and Venezuela.

For the Western European and other States, the Group of Western European and other States has endorsed four candidates for four vacant seats: Canada, Denmark, Norway and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

In accordance with rule 92 of the rules of procedure, we shall now proceed to the election by secret ballot.

Ballot papers marked "A", "B", "C", "D" and "E" will now be distributed. I request representatives to use only those ballot papers and to write on them the names of the States for which they wish to vote.

A ballot paper containing more names from the relevant region than the number of seats assigned to it will be declared invalid. Names of Member States on a ballot paper which do not belong to that region will not be counted at all.

At the invitation of the President, Mr. Bijou (Costa Rica), Mr. Osel-Danquah (Ghana), Mr. Sgouropoulos (Greece), Mr. Rózsa (Hungary) and Mr. Misran (Malaysia) acted as tellers.

A vote was taken by secret ballot.

The meeting was suspended at 10.30 a.m. and resumed at 12.35 p.m.

The President (*interpretation from Spanish*): The result of the voting is as follows:

Group A — African States

Number of ballot papers:	175
Number of invalid ballots:	1
Number of valid ballots:	174

Abstentions:	4
Number of members voting:	170
Required two-thirds majority:	114
Number of votes obtained:	
Morocco	167
Guinea-Bissau	165
Rwanda	153
Democratic Republic of the Congo	150
Congo	6
Togo	2
Cameroon	1
Egypt	1
Guinea	1

Group B — Asian States

Number of ballot papers:	175
Number of invalid ballots:	0
Number of valid ballots:	175
Abstentions:	2
Number of members voting:	173
Required two-thirds majority:	116
Number of votes obtained:	
Indonesia	142
China	140
Saudi Arabia	138
Syrian Arab Republic	117
Turkmenistan	114
Uzbekistan	2
Bangladesh	1

Group C — Eastern European States

Number of ballot papers:	175
Number of invalid ballots:	0
Number of valid ballots:	175
Abstentions:	3
Number of members voting:	172
Required two-thirds majority:	115
Number of votes obtained:	
Russian Federation	120
Bulgaria	98
Czech Republic	98
Republic of Moldova	86
the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia	84

Group D — Latin American and Caribbean States

Number of ballot papers:	175
Number of invalid ballots:	0
Number of valid ballots:	175
Abstentions:	3

172	Sweden
	Ireland
	Netherlands
133	
126	Having obta
118	Bolivia, Cana
117	Congo, De
2	Indonesia, A
1	Federation,
1	United King
	Ireland and
	Economic an
	beginning on
175	
3	The Preside
172	congratulate the S
16	of the Economic a
156	
104	Two seats fro
	remain to be filled
152	
151	In accordance
149	now proceed with
148	in view of the la
	126 118 117 2 1 1 175 3 172 16 156 104 152 151 149

Finland

Having obtained the required two-thirds majority, Bolivia, Canada, China, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Guinea-Bissau, Honduras, Indonesia, Morocco, Norway, Rwanda, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Syrian Arab Republic, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and Venezuela were elected members of the Economic and Social Council for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 1999.

56th plenary meeting 12 November 1998

2

1

The President (*interpretation from Spanish*): I congratulate the States which have been elected members of the Economic and Social Council.

Two seats from among the Eastern European States remain to be filled.

In accordance with the rules of procedure, we should now proceed with a series of restricted ballots. However, in view of the late hour, I propose that we postpone further balloting until 3 p.m. today. May I take it that the Assembly agrees to this proposal?

It was so decided.

2

The meeting rose at 12.45 p.m.